UCC Dentsoc | Undergraduate awards
Dentsoc, UCC, Dental, Dental Society, Dental School, Dentball, Dentcup, UCC Dentsoc, Dentsoc UCC

Undergraduate awards




1st place in a given year

Each year, the highest aggregate mark across all modules in a given year will be awarded a prize. All students are eligible for this, provided that they do not have any module exemptions. The current value of each prize is €1000.

Dr. H H Stewart Medical Scholarships and Prizes

The recipients of the Medical Scholarships and Prizes will be determined by an agreed Extern Examiner in each subject, who will consider examination material of students nominated by the Principals/ Deans of Medicine in the Constituent Universities and RCSI. Prize for highest aggregate 1st and 2nd place in Dentistry. All BDS2 students are eligible for this, provided that they do not have any module exemptions. Scholarship: €1,000; First & Second places: Medals. These awards are presented at the annual NUI awards ceremony.


 Past winners
2012 Tingyun Zhu & Dearbhla Ryan
2011 Joey Donovan & Elise K Doyle
2010 Emily Higgins & Bonolo Letsebe


Edward Gurr Prize

Dr. Edward Gurr, PhD, FRIC, FLS, was attached to the Department of Anatomy, University College Cork, as an honourary Research Associate for a number of years. He was head of the Michrome Laboratories in London which manufacture dyestuffs used in Histology. To mark his association with the Medical School of the University, Dr. Gurr donated the sum of €1,300 for the provision of annual prizes in Histology for medical and dental students. All BDS2 students enrolled in the AN2007 module are eligible for this award. The current value of each prize is c. €800 [more information].


 Past winners
2012 Anand Iyer
2011 Paul Yeoh
2010 Michelle McSweeney


Dr. Anne Wilson/DENTSPLY Prize in Dental Pharmacology


In recognition of Dr. Anne Wilson’s contribution to the teaching of Dental Pharmacology, Dentsply, have offered an award to the value of €200, to be awarded annually to the Third Dental student who achieves the highest marks in Dental Pharmacology at the first attempt. All BDS3 students enrolled in the PT3201 module are eligible for this award.


 Past winners
2013 Patrick McDonough & Anand Iyer
2012 Joey Donovan


Comerford Prize


Students in the BDS5 at University College Cork are eligible for the prize. The prize will be awarded for what is judged to be the best essay, submitted by an individual student or a group of students, on a topic in the area of Challenges in Health Care or Health Education Delivery in Emerging Nations. A certificate and monetary prize of €1,000 which will be presented as a single, one-off payment to the winner, or winners, of the Prize at the University Prize-giving Ceremony each year.


Past award winners

dearbhla-awardDearbhla Ryan, NUI Award Dentistry, 2nd Prize, 2012



Tony Costello Memorial Medal


The competition for the Tony Costello Memorial Medal will be judged on a table demonstration or poster presentation at the Irish Dental Association Conference of not more than 10 minutes on a subject applicable to general dental practice. Each of the three dental schools may enter a team of a maximum of two people. The presentation will be judged on:


  • clinical usefulness;
  • academic content;
  • presentation; and,
  • originality.


The Irish Dental Association will provide a grant of €400 per demonstration.


 Past winners
2013 Joey Donovan
2012 Thomas Murphy


Irish Endodontic Society Undergraduate Essay Award


The society sponsors an Annual Essay Competition for all Irish-based dental students and this award has been kindly sponsored by DP Medical since it was first instituted. First and second prize will be awarded prizes.


 Past winners
2013 Joey Donovan
2010 Paul Ryan



HRB Summer Student Scholarship

The Health Research Board invites applications for Summer Student Scholarships from undergraduate students in a health or social care-related discipline to support their participation in research during summer. The purpose of the student scholarships is to encourage an interest in research and to give the student an opportunity to become familiar with research techniques. The current value of each prize is approx. €2000 [more information].


 Past winners
Summer 2013 Mairead McLoughlin

SURE Award


The College of Medicine and Health invites applications for Summer Undergraduate Research Awards (SURE) from undergraduate students in health-related disciplines in UCC to support their participation in research during Summer. The purpose of these awards is to foster an interest in research and to give the student an opportunity to become familiar with research techniques. The current value of each prize is approx. €2000 [more information].


Past winners
Summer 2013 Anand Iyer

IFPDC/DeCare Bursary Award


Application taken from undergraduates in Dublin and Cork who submit either a case presentation, or an essay on the chosen topic. Further information & to apply for the award is available by emailing info@ifpdc.ie. [more information].


 Past winners
2013 Simon Sweetman (BDSV)
2012 Kathleen McCarthy (BDSV)
2011 Joseph Hanley (BDSV)

DENTSPLY Academy CeramX Case Contest


Show us your restorative skills using Ceram∙X nano-ceramic composite material for the chance to compete against the best dental students in the world in the Ceram∙X Case Contest [more information].


Dental hygiene


Sensodyne Award


Stafford Miller Limited offer a prize worth €127 together with a Perpetual Trophy for award in the School of Dental Hygiene. The Sensodyne Award will be presented annually to a student obtaining the best overall result in the Diploma in Dental Hygiene Examination at the first attempt, having completed the programme in the minimum time.



Details on these awards & prizes can be found here: http://www.ucc.ie/calendar/scholarship/sch003.html